‘Paintings by Jeni Bate’ at the Whittier Art Gallery

PAINTINGS by JENI BATE
RECEPTION: FEBRUARY 6, from 4 – 7 p.m.
SHOW RUNS: FEBRUARY 3 – MARCH 4

JENI BATE has been exhibiting throughout
Southern California since 2003.

Artist’s Statement:

Painting was a frequent joy as a child growing up in Wales
and I dreamed of becoming a skyscapist. In 1995 I came
to Southern California, and the vastness of the spaces
rekindled that childhood love affair with the skies.

After moving to Malibu, I had an opportunity to work on
photography skills. Another 5 months later I was having
difficulty getting my mind off one particular photograph I
had taken. I had an epiphany :“Now, you have to paint!”.
The sky remains the major influence in my work.

Visit the artist’s website here: http://www.jenibate.com

Painted Dawn by Jeni Bate

Leave a Reply

