‘Whittier Hills Dawn’ and ‘Whittier Hills Sunset’ by Vicki Schramm

Vicki Schramm, a local Whittier artist, has been painting for decades. She has recently retired from 31 years of teaching elementry school and now her art is becoming more of a focus. The following two plein-aire paintings are a sample of her work.

She writes:
“For several summer mornings I joined other artist friends for a plein air painting time in the Whittier hills near the Arroyo Pescadero trail head. We worked at this site four different mornings.
Later, in my studio, I changed the painting to show more back-light to emphasize the shape of the tree which had attracted my attention when I first started to sketch this site.
I enjoyed the plein air experience, especially spending the time painting with my artist friends. They helped me notice things in the environment that I might have overlooked if I had painted alone on location.”

“Late one evening, I was standing in the Whittier hills watching the sunset, when I noticed the shape of a eucalyptus tree with the city lights of Long Beach far in the distance. I returned the next evening with my camera determined to capture that beautiful sight. What I ended up with was a disappointing photo with lots of shadows that showed no details and did not represent what I felt about the view.
I worked on this painting in my studio, recalling from my memory what I loved about the scene.”

Both paintings are:
Acrylic on canvas
24 x 18 inches




You can contact Vicki Schramm at: Vicki.Schramm@WhittierArtists.com
For more imformation, please visit this artist’s website at: http://www.WhittierArtists.com/VickiSchramm

Leave a Reply

